A slew of Fiësta nominations

The nominations for the 11th kykNET Fiësta Awards have just been announced. The Fiëstas annually honour exceptional work presented at arts festivals across the country. Debut productions from the six biggest producing Afrikaans arts festivals – Toyota SU Woordfees, KKNK, Suidoosterfees, Innibos, Vrystaatfees and Aardklop – are considered for these coveted awards.

In 2020, the performing arts were under enormous pressure because of the severe impact of the Covid pandemic on the festival circuit. Karen Meiring, M-Net Director: kykNET Channels, says that is why it is so important this year “to honour artists, to retain them for the industry and to remind ourselves of the magnificent work that was still presented on stage and online.”

The director of the Toyota SU Woordfees, Saartjie Botha, agrees: “We were the only festival fortunate enough not to be derailed by Covid in 2020, and we are deeply grateful for that. We salute the projects of our sister festival which served the artists community and audiences with innovative ideas and initiatives in spite of debilitating lockdown restrictions. Everybody who kept the arts and hope alive under these trying circumstances deserves recognition.”

The two productions with the most Fiësta nods are Valsrivier (photo, above left) and Die poet, wie's hy? (photo, above right).

Valsrivier,a stage adaptation of Dominique Botha’s award-winning novel, received seven nominations. It was nominated in the categories for Best Festival Production, Direction (Janice Honeyman), Actor (Robert Hindley and Stian Bam), Actress (Anna-Mart van der Merwe), New Afrikaans Text, Adaptation or Translation (Saartjie Botha) and Up-and-coming Artist (Robert Hindley).

Die poet, wie's hy? – a musical journey through the life and work of iconic poet Adam Small – has been nominated for six prizes: Best Festival Production, Direction (Frieda van den Heever), Actor (Dean Balie), New Afrikaans Text, Adaptation or Translation (Frieda van den Heever and Dean Balie), Theatre Design (Charl-Johan Lingenfelder) and Best Music-driven Production: Theatre.

The following productions, which were all staged at the 2020 Woordfees, garnered a further 18 nominations: Extra large, asseblief?, Tweespoor, Huppelkind, Die engel by die dam, Die vermoeienis van vlerke, Die sonkamer, Hoe change hulle, Stellenbosch University Choir: Lunch-time Concerts and Gala Concert, Early B, Karen Zoid: 20 jaar pops, ’n Lieflike lawaai, Karoo Suite 2: Karoonagte, Van Broadway na Birdstraat, Krummelpap, afval en Sunlightseepbaddens, Wag, wat?, Kraai and Lycra en petticoats.

The 11th kykNET Fiëstas will be broadcast on 7 March at 20:00 on kykNET (DStv channel 144). 

Here is the complete list of nominations:

Best actor

Ben Pienaar – Match (Vrystaatfees)

Dean Balie – Die poet, wie's hy? (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Robert Hindley – Valsrivier (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Stian Bam – Valsrivier (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Best actress

Anna-Mart van der Merwe – Valsrivier (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Melanie Scholtz – Extra large, asseblief? (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Nicole Holm – Tweespoor (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Sandra Prinsloo – Spertyd (Aardklop)

Best Direction

Frieda van den Heever – Die poet, wie's hy? (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Janice Honeyman – Valsrivier (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Marthinus Basson – Huppelkind (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Nico Scheepers – Die engel by die dam (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Best Theatre Design

Charl-Johan Lingenfelder – Musical direction: Die poet, wie's hy? (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Chen Nakar – Set design: Die vermoeienis van vlerke (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Elana-Mari Snyman – Set design: Die sonkamer (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Nico Scheepers – Set and lighting design, choreography and manipulation of the puppet: Die engel by die dam (Toyota SU Woordfees) Die engel by die dam (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Best New Afrikaans Text, Adaptation or Translation

André Gerber – Die sonkamer (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Frieda van den Heever en Dean Balie – Die poet, wie's hy? (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Saartjie Botha – Valsrivier (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Veronique Jephtas – Hoe change hulle (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Best Achievement in Classical Music

Bryan Wallick (piano), Frank Stadler (violin) and Peter Martens (cello) – Beethoven Triple Concerto (KKNK) Beethoven Triple Concerto (KKNK)

Hidden Colours of the Free State  (Vrystaatfees)

KSO – Mozart Wind Octets (KKNK)

Stellenbosch University Choir, conducted by André van der Merwe – Lunch-hour Concerts and Gala Concert (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Best Achievement in Visual Arts

Barbara Wildenboer – KKNK Festival Artist (KKNK)

Carol Brown, Zinhle Khumalo, Angela de Jesus (curators) – Folds & Faults: An Exhibition of Women Artists (Vrystaatfees)

Dineke van der Walt (curator) – Virtuele Galery (KKNK)

John Anthony Boerma (curator) – Innibos Nasionale Handwerkkunskompetisie (Innibos)

Best Music-driven Production: Open-air and Podium

Early B – Toyota US Woordfees

Karen Zoid: 20 jaar pops – Toyota US Woordfees

Klopse jol – Suidoosterfees

The Variety Show that Skriks vir Niks – Suidoosterfees

Best Music-driven Production: Theatre

’n Lieflike lawaai – Toyota US Woordfees

Die poet, wie's hy? – Toyota US Woordfees

Karoo Suite 2: Karoonagte – Toyota US Woordfees

Van Broadway na Birdstraat – Toyota US Woordfees

Best Online Festival Project

Die dans van my heenkoms – Vrystaatfees

Beethoven Triple Concerto – KKNK

#TsekCorona, Hot Gates, A Child in a Faraway Land, Die weduwee se kruik, The World in Union – Suidoosterfees

Virtual Art Gallery – KKNK

Best Festival Production

Beethoven Triple Concerto – KKNK

Die dans van my heenkoms – Vrystaatfees

Die poet, wie's hy? – Toyota US Woordfees

Valsrivier – Toyota US Woordfees

Best Upcoming Artist

Lynette du Plessis – Krummelpap, afval en Sunlightseepbaddens (Toyota SU Woordfees)

René Cloete – Huppelkind (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Robert Hindley – Valsrivier (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Wian Taljaard – Wag, wat?, Kraai, Lycra en petticoats (Toyota SU Woordfees)

Other news