And the winners of the SU Woordfees Short Story Competition are ...

Twenty-three stories were chosen for publication in the new SU Woordfees Short Story Anthology. This collection, which has been published annually since 2016, usually carries the same title as the festival theme. However, since the festival dates for 2022 are still uncertain as a result of the pandemic, both the festival theme and the title of the collection will only be announced next year.

The winner will be announced during the 2022 festival and will walk away with a prize of R30 000 sponsored by Du Toitskloof Wines. All other writers included in this collection will receive a prize of R5 000.

“It has been seven years since this competition started, and the judges still find it a lovely surprise to see what writers present each year. And, once again, we were not disappointed. This is also the first year in which the number of new voices significantly outnumbered the more established writers: fourteen vs nine. Congratulations to everyone!” commented Suzette Kotze Myburgh, who since 2016 has been the convenor of the selection panel.

The other two panel members are Valda Jansen and Marius Swart.

Saartjie Botha, director of the Toyota SU Woordfees, is excited about the sustained interest that this festival collection generates: “We received 366 submissions this year – the highest number yet. It is encouraging that writers are still creating in a time when the arts are struggling. It reminds us once again that the SU Woordfees Short Story Anthology is a warm and invaluable invitation to further engagement. We are looking forward to welcoming these writers at the next Woordfees. We hope to announce our festival plans for 2022 shortly.”

Ed Beukes, spokesperson for Du Toitskloof Wines, says that stories have special importance in challenging times: “New stories remain relevant – particularly in the strange and extended Covid-19 era in which we find ourselves. New stories do not only provide an escape or serve as inspiration for readers, but also allow us to confront the hard reality that we sometimes try to avoid or choose to ignore. Therefore, it is with open hearts and minds (and perhaps an open bottle) that we embrace these stories and the truths that they bring, even though they may not always be easy to swallow. We are looking forward to all the new stories, the sparkling discussions that they will generate, the perceptions that they will challenge and the new insights to which they will lead us.”

The writers included in the 2022 SU Woordfees Short Story Anthology are – in alphabetical order:

  1. Antoinette Diedericks
  2. Ryno Eksteen
  3. Ilne Fourie
  4. Sidney Gilroy
  5. Donovan Greeff
  6. Helena Gunter
  7. Cudi Harmse
  8. Louis Jansen van Vuuren
  9. Lynthia Julius
  10. Keith Lewis
  11. Cecilia Lombard
  12. Hannes Loubser
  13. Michèle Meyer
  14. Cliffordene Norton
  15. Ryan Pedro
  16. Ilse Schoonwinkel Pauw
  17. Deborah Steinmair
  18. Douw Steyn
  19. Marie Toerien
  20. Nadia van Zyl
  21. Dineke Volschenk
  22. Madeleen Welman
  23. Lloyd Zandberg

For more information about the SU Woordfees Short Story Collection, visit:

The festival dates for the 2022 Toyota SU Woordfees will be announced in January.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Other news

A huge, warm thank you

Die 22ste Toyota US Woordfees was die eerste kunstefees wat volledig op ’n opwip-TV-kanaal plaasgevind het. Woordfees TV is van 1 tot 7 Oktober landwyd